Native Botanicals

Native Botanicals

Tincture Update

Leave a comment

How long did I let the Rhodiola marinate you ask? Three (3) weeks total. I don’t have a fancy wringer but I do have vegetable juicer and that was what I used to squeeze out the final product, (see pic below)
Grinder
Initially I had a coffee filter under the juicer but the particulates immediately plugged the filter so I just used the screen.

Spooning in

The smell, although not bad, was quite strong. The entire process took just a few minutes. Below is the waste, the juicer was quite efficient at squeezing out every drop.

Ground by rpoduct

Below is a pic of the final product. It came out muddy looking. I tried again with the coffee filter and it immediately plugged up after a couple minutes but what did come out was semi-clear and rose colored.

Jar completed
After the jar sat for a week undisturbed there was a little bit of settling that occurred and it did look more appealing. Of course, it’s totally your call on how you want to handle it, this was just one of many methods I’m sure.
As for taste? It was a bit on the strong side I think from the alcohol. I did try a store bought extract made from glycerine and it wasn’t quite so strong, in both cases the Rhodiola taste was very distinct.

Leave a comment